Making Beer

Bottles of beer ready to drink in 6 weeks.
Bottles of beer ready to drink in 6 weeks.
Making beer with our French Helpx WOOFERS -  Jean-Baptiste and Jen
Making beer with our French Helpx WOOFERS – Jean-Baptiste and Jen

It takes a lot of energy to recycle a bottle into a new glass item.
My husband and I have always felt that it is important to reduce the materials we bring into our home and thus reduce the rubbish/recycling we send out in our bins each week. Our shopping, gardening and homemade hobbies reflect our philosophy.
One of the things we began doing a couple years ago to try and reuse existing glass bottles was to begin a beer making adventure.
The first batch we made was pretty horrid. I fact,  I couldn’t drink it and our friends wouldn’t! Ant valiantly drank his way through 60 bottles of yucky lager! He hates waste!
Luckily we were not deterred and we searched for a ‘beer guy’ who could share some of his wisdom. Dave from Dave’s Homebrew is a legend in all things beer. When I first arrived in his shop he asked me to close my eyes and imagine the best beer I have ever had – no expense spared in the imagining. Then he walked me around the shop pulling tins and packets out and promising me I could produce the beer in my head! Our second attempt was a roaring success! We haven’t looked back, making a drum of beer (23 litres) every fortnight has become part of our household routine. We now make three types of beer – an ale, a wheat beer and a black. Our once skeptical friends now request our beer for parties!
It takes about 20 minutes to make a brew and with the help of our Helpx woofers, about an hour to bottle between 60 and 65 yummy 375ml beers. And all this costs less than $15 a case.
I guess the only drawback is a shed full of beer. It takes 6 weeks to mature.
Happy making
Bridge

Leave a Reply

